13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces and Territories, 1867-1946, Legislatures and Prime Ministers, 1934-46, and Present Ministries as at Jan. 1, 1947

Note.—The Lieutenant-Governor of a province is addressed "His Honour" and is also styled "Honourable" throughout his life. Where a knighthood or other honour was conferred during the term of office, it is shown. Many Lieutenant-Governors were knighted after their term had expired. Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1923 will be found at pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book, and for 1924-34 at pp. 110-118 of the 1938 Year Book. When two or more dates are shown for the appointment of a Minister, the first denotes the original appointment to the Ministry and the second or last to the portfolio held at present.

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
WILLIAM ROBINSON. SIT ROBERT HODGSON. THOMAS H. HAVILAND. ANDREW ARCHIBALD MACDONALD. JEDEDIAH S. CARVELL. GEORGE W. HOWLAN. P. A. McIntyre. D. A. Mackinnon.	July 10, 1879 July 18, 1884 Sept. 2, 1889 Feb. 21, 1894	Benjamin Rogers A. C. Macdonald Murdock McKinnon Frank R. Heartz CHARLES DALTON GEORGE D. DEBLOIS BRADFORD W. LEPAGE J. A. BERNARD	Sept. 2, 1919 Sept. 8, 1924 Nov. 19, 1930 Dec. 28, 1933 Sept. 11, 1939	

LEGISLATURES, 1934-461

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of	
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly	4	Sept. 25, 1935	Aug. 20, 1943	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-46 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan, M.D., C.M.; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell, K.C., 22nd Ministry, sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones, M.A., B.Sc.A.

² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

TWENTY-SECOND MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 15, 1943: 20 Liberals, 10 Progressive Conservatives.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment		
President of the Executive Council, Premier, Minister of Education, and Minister of Reconstruction. Attorney and Advocate-General. Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and Minister of Health and Welfare. Minister of Public Works and Highways. Minister of Agriculture. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. J. Walter Jones. Hon. Frederic Alfred Large, K.C. Hon. William Hughes Hon. George H. Barbour. Hon. W. F. Alan Stewart. Hon. Horace Wright. Hon. John A. Campbell. Hon. Marin Gallant. Hon. T. William L. Prowse.	May May May May Sept. Aug. Aug.	8,	